top of page
Search

How Cannabis Saved My Life, Strains I've Tried & More- Updated Strains 1/18/24

Updated: Jan 18

I wanted to share my story and experience with Cannabis. I wanted to share exactly how Cannabis saved my life and turned my life around as well as helped assist me in healing in case any of you use or decide to use cannabis as a medicine or for spiritual purposes. I will also be sharing the strains I used throughout the years since my Cannabis journey started late 2015. I had become quite the "weed connoisseur" as the bud tender told me one time as I was always open to trying new strains. I have tried over 200 (almost 300) different strains over the years since. Some repeats.


I first turned to Cannabis when I was trying to get off of Xanax in late 2015. My anxiety and panic attacks were so strong I wanted something that could help me but get me off of xanax as I started to notice I was becoming addicted to it in just a short amount of time. I was not a person to get addicted to anything normally so I knew I needed something to stop it before it got worse. When I was on xanax, I was also on Social Security Disability because I could not work with how severe my anxiety and panic attacks were. At one point I thought I would be on it forever. Me briefly speaking on this has relevance that I will soon be mentioning.


About 5 months in taking xanax I felt guided to research Cannabis and its benefits for anxiety and panic attacks. What strains were best and how others did being on cannabis with anxiety. About a month of research I decided to get my cannabis medical card which was easy to do living in California. Since then its been a part of my life. I don't take it as often as I did because it did exactly what I intended it to do. It helped me heal. But I do go to it from time to time when I need it either for medicine or spiritual reasons. And sometimes just a fun time.


What Cannabis did for me:


Because of the way my body responded to Cannabis, this is what it contributed to:


-Helped me reduce my anxiety and panic attacks so I could actually function and sleep

-Motivated me to actually want to do better for myself and heal

-Allowed me to heal the cause of my anxiety and panic attacks by minimizing the anxiety so I could look at my situation in a different perspective/lens without having a panic attack or induced anxiety

-Through me healing the cause it led me to get off of social security disability and I eventually started my own business

-Helped assist me in advancing my spiritual journey and being of service to the world

-Made me feel overall amazing (minus the occasional paranoia or induced anxiety which I will touch on in another post and how to deal with it)


For someone to go from thinking they were forever going to be anxiety ridden, couldn't go or do anything let alone leave the apartment without having a panic attack and forever be on government assistance TO healing, getting off government assistance, starting a business and thriving is nothing short than incredible. Cannabis does not always effect people in the way we have been told. Its all on how we choose to use it.


Cannabis has been controversial for many years. We have been told how horrible of a drug it is and locking people in prison or jail for it. In the 80s/90s they even had a commercial against Cannabis of a girl who was flattened on the couch (I really want to know what that strain was because being an Indica girl that has never happened and I'm interested lol) When in actuality it helps a lot of people in more ways than one. Its a medicine. A plant that can be used for many purposes. Its all on the intention going in to it. Which I may make a separate post on that as well.


I am not against enjoying cannabis recreationally. But if we were to also use it in a productive way we can literally change our lives around and essentially the world. I know Cannabis isn't for everyone. So always honor your truth. But for those of you that Cannabis does work for or is being guided to it, enjoy! You have a miracle plant on your hands (and eventually in your lungs). ;)


Strains that I've Smoked:


Before you try any of the strains I list (unless you already have) I do want you to look in to what strain will best help you for what you're intending to use Cannabis for. I'm also including a link to Leafly, a website where you can type in the stain and see what exactly that stain will help you with. Not all strains work for everyone. For me or someone with anxiety (future related anxiety not so much social anxiety), insomnia or pain might use an Indica which is most of the strains I will be listing. However I do have some Sativas I'll be listing as they help with more social anxiety, stress, depression and assists us to do daily tasks. Its also a very creative strain. Indica is more of a sedative couch lock effect that can help you sleep where Sativa will have you more alert creating projects, feeling happy and doing things you probably felt you couldn't do before. I will always be an Indica girl but I do love Sativas as well. And of course Hybrids are great too.


I created a system when I first started smoking cannabis. I would write down every strain I tried and put a Yes!!! for LOVED it, Yes!! for loved it but not LOVED it, Yes! and Yes for enjoyed and would try again but not a top strain. Maybe which I was in between with or No for will not try again. Most of the no's are mostly from causing me more anxiety than I had before or just did not do well with my body chemistry. I will mention, some of these strains I strictly tried because of the name. Ha Yes, I am one of those people.


-OG Kush- Maybe

-Tahoe OG-Yes

-Skywalker-Yes

-Paris OG-Yes (this strain was also great mixed with another strain)

-Purple Candy-Yes!

-Abusive OG-Yes!

-Girl Scout Cookies- Yes! (another strain that was great to mix other strains with)

-Blackberry Kush-Maybe

-Girkle-Yes

-GDP (Grandaddy Purp)-Yes!

-Bubba Kush-Yes

-Kandy Kush- Maybe/Yes

-Cookie Monster-Yes!

-Buddha Tahoe-Yes

-SFV OG (San Fernando Valley)-No (gave me more anxiety)

-White Rhino-Yes

-King Louis-Yes

-Chem Dawg 4-Maybe

-Gorilla Glue #4- Yes! (one of the famous strains I loved the most)

-LA Confidential-No

-Sunshine Daydream-Yes

-Headband-Maybe

-Leno OG-No

-Silver OG-No

-White Widow-Yes

-Blueberry Skunk- Yes

-Phantom OG-Yes

-Gucci-Yes!

-Chem Scout-Yes

-Fruit Loops-Yes

-Cotton Candy-Yes!

-Cali OG-Yes!

-Phantom Cookies-Yes

-Illuminati OG-Yes!

-Fortune Cookies-Yes

-Bruce Banner-Yes

-Blue Dream-Maybe

-Sour Diesel-Yes!!! (my FAVORITE Sativa. It also made me super horny)

-Twerkle-Yes!

-Cherry Kola-Yes

-Banana OG-Yes!!!

-Purple OG-Yes

-Dutch Treat-Yes

-AK-47-Yes

-Tangerine- Maybe but more yes

-Creeper OG-Maybe

-True OG-Maybe

-XJ-13-Yes

-Green Crack-No

-Jack Herer-Yes

-Lambs Bread-Yes!

-Sherbert-Yes

-Do Si Do-Yes!

-Moonrocks (caviar)-Maybe

-Moonrocks (blueberry)-Yes!

-Dream Queen-Yes

-Wiz Khalifa OG-No (nothing against the rapper but my body did not like this strain)

-Pink Panther-Yes!!!

-Kosher Kush-Yes!!!

-White Russian-Maybe

-Thin Mint-Yes

-Blueberry Haze-Yes!!

-Dutch Dragon-Maybe

-Master Kush-Yes!

-Purple Cookies-Yes!

-Dragons Breath-Yes

-Berry Kush-Yes

-AC/DC-Yes!!! (this is a CBD strain and I absolutely LOVED it. It did what I wanted it to and I even went out and got food and just overall felt great)

-Pure Kush-No

-Super Silver Haze-No

-Harle Tsu-Maybe

-Purple Skywalker-Yes!

-Gorilla Vanilla-Yes!!!

-Cherry AK-47-Maybe/Yes

-XXX OG-Yes

-J1-Yes!

-Hawaiian Gold-Yes

-Strawberry Kush-Yes!

-Sour Skittles-Maybe/Yes

-Harlequin-Yes!!

-Cheese-Yes!!! (LOVED this strain)

-Cirtus Haze-Maybe/Yes

-Sour Tangle-Yes!!

-Kosher Tangie-Yes!!

-Lucky Charms-Yes!

-Purple Deisel-Yes!!

-Mendo Breath-Yes

-James Franco OG-Maybe

-Forbidden Fruit-Yes!!

-Blue Kush-Yes

-Purple Fig-Yes

-Gelato-Yes!

-Diamond OG-Yes!!!

-Mars OG-Yes!!

-E.T.-Yes!!

-Animal Cookies-Yes!!

-Yodas Brain-Yes!

-Bubba Berry-Yes

-Gorilla Cookies-Yes!!

-Alaskan Thunder Fuck-Yes!

-Holy Grail-Yes!!

-Saturn OG-Yes!!

-Earth OG-Yes!

-Hawaiian Fire-Yes!

-Wifi-Yes!!

-Strawberry Cough-Yes!!! (Second favorite Sativa)

-Diablo-Maybe

-Jupiter-Yes!

-Strawberry Field-Yes

-Blueberry-Yes!!

-Herojuana-Yes!

-Sweet Tart-Yes

-Alien Fruity Pebbles-Yes!!

-Honey Banana-Yes!

-Creme Brûlée-Yes!

-Lemon OG-Yes

-Mendo Purp-Yes

-Purple Wreck-Yes

-Lemon Haze-Maybe

-Banana Kush-Yes! (the Kush and the OG are different)

-Hello Kitty-Yes

-Champagne-Yes

-Jack the Ripper-Yes!

-24K-Maybe

-Double Dream-Maybe

-TNT OG-Yes!

-Diesel Cookies-Yes!

-Sour Dawg-Yes!

-Mimosa-Yes!!!

-Larry OG-Yes!!

-El Jefe-Yes!!!

-White Walker-Yes!

-Ingrid-Yes!!

-Jesus-Yes

-Alien Glue-Yes

-Purple Bubba-Yes!!

-Strawberry Diesel-Maybe

-Crown OG-Yes!!!

-Ghost OG-Yes!!

-Strawberry Lemonade-Maybe

-Sugarberry-Yes!

-Purple LA-Yes

-Blackberry Supreme-Yes!!

-Blackjack-Yes

-Presidential OG-Yes!

-Yoda OG-Yes!!!

-Jedi OG-Yes!!

-Wedding Cake-Yes

-Superglue-Yes!!

-Platinum OG-Yes!

-Skywalker OG-Yes!!

-Blueberry Bomb-Yes!!!

-Candyland-Yes!!

-Bad & Boujee-Yes!!

-Pacific OG-Yes!!

-Strawberry Bubblegum-Yes!

-Cookies & Cream-Maybe

-Blueberry Headband-Yes!

-Gods Gift-Yes!!

-Cherry Pie-Yes!!

-Dizzy OG-Yes!!

-Black Diamond-Yes!! and Yes (I've tried this twice from 2 different dispensaries and they varied each time)

-Moonstone-Yes!!

-Strawnana-Yes!!!

-Electric Lemonade-Yes!!

-Mint Chip-Yes!!!

-Sapphire Kush-Yes!!

-Jet Fuel-Yes!!

-Iceberg OG-Yes!!

-Purple Punch-Yes!!

-King David-Yes!!!

-Blue Zkittles-Yes!

-Alien OG-Yes!!!

-Purple Urkle-Yes!

-Godfather OG-Yes!!!

-3 Kings-Yes!!!

-Pure Elevation-Yes!!

-Matrix OG-Yes!!

-Sour Cookies-Yes!!

-Nitro Cookies-Yes!!

-Bubalicious-Yes!!

-Grape Drank-Maybe

-Tropical Berry-Yes!!

-Cru Glue-Yes!

-Kosher White Truffle-Yes!!!

-Lemon Skunk-Yes!

-Earth Shaker OG-Yes!!!

-Ultra Violence-Yes!!!

-Nutter Butter-Yes!!

-Platinum Pineapple-Yes!!

-Gorilla Goo-Yes!!

-Majestic 12-Yes!!

-Weed Bros OG-Yes!!

-Pre 98 Bubba Kush-Yes!!!

-Blueberry Cookies-Yes!!

-True Saint-Yes!!

-Dark Star-Maybe

-HighFive-Yes!!!

-Super Skunk-Yes

-Side Chick-Maybe

-Kryptonite OG-Yes!

-Bob Marley OG-Yes!!!

-Lotus OG-Yes!

-Scarface-Yes!!!

-Boss OG-Yes!!

-Kush Berries-Yes!

-Obama Kush-Yes!!!

-Snoops OG-Yes!!! (out of all the artists I've tried Snoops was the best!!!)

-Donna-Yes!!!

-Tom Ford-Yes!!!

-Candy Crush-Yes!!!

-King of Kings-Yes!!

-The Great White-Yes

-Gas Mask-Yes!!!

-Pop Off-Yes!!

-Grape God-Yes!!!

-Blue Widow-Yes!!!

-Gookies-Yes!!

-Dr. Death-Yes!

-Tigers Blood-Yes!!!

-Willy Wonka-Yes

-Hawaiian Citrus-Yes!!!

-Creamy Vanilla-Yes!!!

-Grim Reaper-Yes

-Biscotti Cookies-Yes!!

-Sour Grape-Yes!

-Mad Scientist-Yes!!

-Acai Berry-Yes!!

-Afgan Kush-Yes!

-Ape Shit-Yes!!

-Jilly Bean-Yes

-Fuck Ya-Yes!!!

-Sharks Breath-Yes

-Baby Gorilla-Yes

-Flo-Yes!!!

-Violet Delight-Maybe

-Superstar Deisel-Yes

-White Skywalker-Yes!

-Hellsfire-Yes!!!

-Lava Cake-Maybe/No

-Blueberry Honeydew-Yes!

-Papaya Gelato-Maybe

-Blood Walker-No

-Firewalker-Yes!

-White Caviar-Yes!

-El Chapo-Yes!

-Willie Nelson-Maybe (I was hoping this strain would do well with me but it didn't)

-Jack Deisel-Maybe

-Cookie Bite-Yes!!

-Watermelon-Yes!!

-Afgani Bullrider-Yes!!!

-Sugar Cookies-Yes!!

-Animal Cake-Yes!!

-Key Lime Pie-Yes!!

-Underdog Purple-Yes!!

-Ice Cream Cake-Yes!!!

-Inhalence OG Kush-Yes!!!

-Pie Face OG-Yes!!!

-Papaya Punch-Yes!!

-Ocean Cookies-Yes

-Lavender Cross-Yes!!

-Pineapple Kush-Yes!!

-Sundae Driver-Yes!

-Hindu Kush-Yes!!

-Juicy Melon-Yes!

-Watermelon Zkittles w/keif-Yes!!! (this strain was in a pre rolled joint. It was a while since I smoked before this. The second night of smoking this had me crawling to bed. It was SO good. Was an amazing high)


UPDATED STRAINS: 1/18/24

-Pink Acai- Yes!!

-Blue Burst- Yes!!

-Northern Lights- Yes!!!

-Animal Runtz- Yes!!


Of course I do love keif and I have tried wax a handful of times. I mostly prefer joints or a bong to smoke. I also love edible but being vegan it can be difficult to find vegan edibles that aren't loaded with sugar.


Below is the link to Leafly. Its an amazing website where you can check out thousands of strains and what they are good for.



If you aren't sure which strain would be best for you I suggest checking out strains specifically for what you need it for using Leafly or you can speak to your bud tender.


I hope you enjoyed reading this blog as much as I did writing it. Looking back at all the strains I smoked brought back happy memories and good times.


You can let me know in the comments what your favorite strains are or if you have tried any of the ones I mentioned above and how you liked it.


Unti the next blog, thank you for stopping by. :)


Much love,


Erica













54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page